What are you Communicating?

I once read a quote that said “everything you do communicates.”  While I don’t know if I agree that everything I do communicates, I do know that I communicate a lot through my words, my actions, my body language, and my appearance.  Not only does this apply to me personally, but also to my church.  My church communicates through everything from its cleanliness to its advertising, signage, and the friendliness of its people.

There was an incident that took place last year that really drives this point home.  I was traveling along an interstate highway and noticed a church that had several red, white, and blue painted buses parked in the parking lot. The thing that really grabbed my attention was a huge sign that read “Patriotic, Fundamentalist, King James” along with their service times.  I couldn’t help but sadly shake my head and say a quick prayer for this church.  Why?  Because of what that sign was communicating.  What do I mean by that statement?  Let’s take a closer look at the three phrases on the sign.

Patriotic – To many people, myself included, this is a very positive word.  I love my country, and feel very blessed to have been born in the good ol’ US of A.  But that’s just me.  What about foreigners?  Would they read the word “patriotic” and look at the red white and blue buses and feel like they would be welcome?  My guess would be no.

Fundamentalist – This is a word that can mean different things to different groups of people.  Within Christian circles it tends to mean something along the lines of “Independent Baptist.”  To the world it often carries a different meaning altogether.  When many hear the word “fundamentalist,” they think of the fanatics that blow up abortion clinics, or maybe those people we see on the news protesting at the funerals of soldiers and homosexuals.  This is not the kind of imagery we want attached to our churches.

King James – You and I both know that this statement simply means that this particular church uses the King James translation of the Bible.  While this has meaning to those of us already in the family of God, to the average non-Christian it would mean absolutely nothing.  I can just imagine them scratching their head and wondering “Who’s King James?”

It may sound like I’m blasting this church, but that is certainly not my intention.  I do not know anything about the church or their impact on the Kingdom.  What has me concerned is that their sign was obviously directed towards those who are already believers – specifically those believers who are patriotic, fundamentalist, and prefer the King James translation.  While there is nothing inherently wrong with this, my thoughts keep coming back to the lost.  There was nothing about that sign that would attract a non-believer, and plenty about it that would push them away.  We cannot lose sight of the primary mission of the church, which is the fulfillment of the Great Commission.  In pursuing this mission, we must never water down the message of the Gospel, but we do need to make sure we are communicating that message effectively.  Our churches should be places which attract the lost and in which the lost would feel welcome.

What message is your church communicating through its appearance, advertising, community presence, etc.? What things could we do to attract the lost without compromising our beliefs?  Leave a comment below.

Explore posts in the same categories: Advice, Communication, Questions, Rural, Testimony

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

