Freebie Friday – Vimeo

Since we live in a multimedia world I’ve found that video clips are a great way to enhance my church services.  They help hold people’s interest as well as increase retention rates of the sermon.  The problem, however, is that church video clips tend to be kind of pricey.  It’s nothing to see a four or five minute clip selling for $15 or more.  As much as I like to use video, my church budget won’t allow me to spend that much money on any kind of regular basis. This is why I was so happy to find Vimeo.

Vimeo is a website very much like YouTube, except a large portion of their videos are downloadable!  Yes, I know that there are ways to download YouTube videos (I’ll write about how to do that sometime in the future), but with Vimeo you do not need to worry so much about copyrite issues. If the creator of a video does not want you to use it, they simply do not make it available for download.  I’ve found everything from countdown timers to service openers to sermon clips all available to freely use in my church service.  (click on the links to see examples that I have used).

To download a Vimeo clip you have to be a registered user.  Registration is quick, painless, and free.  Once registered simply scroll down to below the clip, and on the right hand side you will see a link to download.  Right click on the link and save it to your hard drive.  The videos are often posted in .mov or .mp4 format, which do not work very well with PowerPoint, so they may need to be converted. Next week I’ll write about a free utility that converts videos very nicely.  (If you can’t wait until next week e-mail me and I’ll send you the link.)

To use Vimeo click here

Disclosure: Neither the Rural Ministry Blog or Harry Colegrove benefit in any way from this website review.

Explore posts in the same categories: Free Stuff, Freebie Friday, Videos

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

