Wrong or different?

I must admit that rural ministry is pretty natural for me.  I think the main reason is that I was born and raised rural.  In fact, my hometown is 35 miles north of where I minister, so I’m almost considered a local.  I‘ve met many pastors, however, that grew up in urban/suburban areas and really struggle adjusting to rural life.  One of the major issues that causes this struggle is the fact that we tend to look at the way we think about life as the “right” way and therefore anyone who thinks differently than us is “wrong.”

Before I go any further let me state that I believe in absolute truth.  I believe that the Bible is the inspired, inerrant Word of God and the final authority on all truth.  With that being said, however, the Bible doesn’t deal with every issue of life.  When it does, then anything that goes against Scripture is obviously wrong, but what about those things that the Bible doesn’t deal with?  In those areas “right” and “wrong” are a lot more ambiguous and depend largely on things like culture, tradition, and opinion.  The following video clip illustrates my point perfectly:

(link: http://www.ted.com/talks/derek_sivers_weird_or_just_different.html)

The bottom line is that quite often urban people and rural people think and act very differently.  The transition from urban to rural life would be much easier if we all realized the truths in this video.  All of us, whether we are from a rural or urban background, need to recognize the difference between “wrong” and “different.”

Have you encountered any situations in which what you thought was “right” or “wrong” turned out to be “different”?  Leave a comment below:

Explore posts in the same categories: Rural

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

